SLEAFORD WHEELERS

SLEAFORD-SKEGNESS RACE 13 SEPTEMBER 2009

On Sunday morning at 8.00am 17 Wheelers' riders faced the timekeeper for their annual Sleaford-Skegness race, the final time trial of the season. The event was formerly an idea of the Wheeler's late Chairman Nev Crane and has been run successfully since the 1960s until the present date. Nev himself holds the record time for the distance, which was then 39 miles, in 1 hour 20 minutes. Nev held this record for several years until a strong westerly wind enabled Andrew Holden to lower the time to 1 hour 19 minutes which still stands today.

This Sunday the wind was against the riders in a north-easterly quarter. Although the course is now only 37 miles (due to road alterations) it still prevented the record from being broken. A fast time was still produced by Dennis Owen to win the event in 1 hour 34 minutes 34 secs. Stuart McKellar in 2nd place was less than a minute behind (1.35.21), 3rd place going to Andy Howett just one second further behind (1.35.22).

George Thompson, aged 15, attempted the distance for the first time and is probably one of the Club's youngest riders ever to ride the event. George did an amazing time for one of his age, taking 8th position and the award for the fastest novice recording 1.46.35.

Rose Pell was just behind George in 9th place (1.48.51) was the fastest lady with husband Howard taking the 1st handicap award and 5th place, recording 1.38.45. Other Sleaford placings and times as follows:

4^{th}	Mark Colclough	1.36.56
6 th	Ian Pike	1.40.53
7^{th}	Dave Smith	1.43.36
10^{th}	John Scott	1.50.39
11^{th}	Dave Pike	1.53.19
12^{th}	Andy Carter	2.01.02

Private Trials

Paul Hutchinson (Boston Wheelers)	1.40.30
Jake Clare (Yello Vello)	1.46.58
Steve Jackson	1.42.46
Darren Jessop	1.47.36
Russell Newman	1.48.20
Mandy Jackson	1.55.35

Malc Yates, Chairman